

New Brunswick Curling Association/Association de Curling du Nouveau-Brunswick

Minutes Annual General Meeting Sunday, May 7, 2023, Capital Winter Club

Clubs Represented: Curling Beresford Inc., Capital Winter Club, Carleton Curling Club, Curl Moncton, Florenceville Curling Club, Gage Golf & Curling Club, Gladstone Curling Club, Hampton Curling Club, Heather Curling Club, St. George Curling Club, St. Stephen Curling Club, Sussex Golf & Curling Club, Thistle St. Andrews, Woodstock Golf & Curling Club.

- **Report on Credentials/Order of Business:** Included in meeting package and read aloud by the Executive Director.
- **Call to Order:** President, Bernard Savoie, called the meeting to order, welcomed all participants and thanked them for their attendance.
- **Moment of Silence for Departed Members:** A moment of silence was held for departed members. Club representatives were invited to acknowledge those who passed away since our Nov. 2022 SAGM.
- **Appointment of Scrutineers:** Due to the fact that the majority of voting delegates will be attending virtually, Stephen will act as scrutineer for virtual attendees.
- **Ratification of Agenda;** Wendy Anderson moved the agenda be approved as presented & Steve Thompson seconded the motion. Carried.
- **Approval of SAGM Minutes:** Arnold Mallais moved the minutes of the Nov. 2022 SAGM be approved as submitted & Wayne Tallon seconded the motion. Carried
- **Appointment of Accountant/Auditor:** Catherine MacLean moved the accounting firm of Teed, Saunders & Doyle be appointed to prepare the 2022-23 financial documents & Brenda Allison seconded the motion . Carried.
- Motion Brought Forward from Business Session to Amend the Constitution: Motion 23AGM1: Catherine MacLean moved that ARTICLE VII-OFFICERS, Section 2b be amended with the renaming of the Junior Development Director to Youth Development Director and that ARTICLE VIII-STANDING COMMITTEES, Section 3 be amended with the renaming of the Junior Development Committee to Youth Development Committee. John Corbin seconded the motion. Carried. Motion 23AGM2: Arnold Mallais moved ARTICLE II-Section 2b, Paragraph 4 be amended to include the election process and term of the Youth Development Director. John Corbin seconded the motion. Carried
- Additional Motions Brought Forward from the Business Session: Motion 23AGM3: Alex Robichaud moved the format of the NB Scottes be changed to an open full triple knockout. John Corbin seconded the motion. Carried The motion was seconded by John Corbin. Carried (see carried Motion below) Motion 23AGM4: Alex Robichaud move the format of the NB Tankard be changed to an open full triple knockout. Jonathan Goodine seconded the motion. Carried
- Congratulations to Two NB 2022-23 National Medalist Teams: Congratulations were extended Team Moncton on their Gold Medal win at the 2022 Canadian Women's Curling Club Championships. (Shaelyn Park, Krista Flanagan, Lynn LeBlanc & Shannon Tatlock)

Congratulations were extended to Team Forsythe on their Silver Medal win at the 2023 Canadian Women's U18 Championships. (Melodie Forsythe, Rebecca Watson, Izzy Paterson, Caylee Smith & coach Wayne Tallon)

Jonathan Goodine spoke to the former NB athlete Kate Paterson on her medal win on the national stage this past season.

- **Curling NB Board of Directors Annual Reports:** Board repots were included in the meeting package. Each Board Member was invited to speak to their submitted reports. Arnold Mallais moved acceptance of reports as presented. Steve Thompson second the motion. Carried.
- **Curling NB Nomination Committee Report:** The Nomination Committee Report was included in the meeting package. The following recommendations were presented and accepted:

President: Gail Samaan, Executive Vice President: Stephen Thompson, Associate Vice President: Brenda Allsion, Youth Development Director: Kevin Kyle, North East Zone Director: Don Walls

(1 yr term), Bernard Savoie has accepted the one year Past President position. Two positions remain vacant: South West Zone Director and Players Rep.

• Recognition Awards

- **Les Harrison Volunteer of the Year:** The 2023 Les Harrison Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Curl Moncton's Tim Westfield.
- Others: Awards were presented to the following outgoing Board Members: President-Bernard Savoie, Junior Development Director-Jonathan Goodine and Players Rep-Alex Robichaud with thanks for their dedication to our sport.
- Adjournment to Reception

Respectfully submitted.